Small Business Trends

How to Block Someone on Facebook (And Know if You Were Blocked): A Step-by-Step Guide

By | 6 min read | Published

This important––and often necessary––process is simple for personal and business profiles alike.

For a myriad of personal and safety reasons, you may need to block a profile or business Facebook account so the account user cannot contact you, see your profile, or view your activity on the platform. Are you familiar with these processes?

How to block a profile on Facebook from your desktop

Blocking a personal profile on desktop

A personal profile is an individual user’s profile, such as your friends and other Facebook users. Here are the steps to block this type of profile on Facebook:

1. Navigate to the profile you want to block. You can do this by searching for the person’s name in your search bar on the upper left corner of your screen.

screenshot of Facebook search bar
Search for the user’s account in your search bar

2. Click on the three dots underneath the “Message” button on the right side of the screen under the profile cover photo.

Facebook screenshot
Click the three dots to expand your options and select the Block option

3. Scroll to “Block” at the bottom of the box that appears. Click on this option.

4. In the pop-up that appears, click “Confirm.”

screenshot: how to block someone on Facebook
Click “Confirm” to block the user’s account

Note: If you are friends with this person, blocking them on Facebook will automatically unfriend them.

Blocking a business account on desktop

The process of blocking a business profile is essentially the same as a personal profile, but the restrictions will be different: you will no longer be able to post on their timeline or message the page, but the page can still see your profile and any public activity.

To block this type of profile on Facebook, complete the following steps:

1. Navigate to the profile you want to block by searching in the search bar for this profile name.

2. Click on the three dots underneath the “Message” button on the right side of the screen under the profile cover photo.

3. Scroll to “Block” in the middle of the box that appears. Click on this option.

screenshot: how to block someone on Facebook
Locate the “Block” option in the middle of the box that appears when you click on the three dots

4. In the pop-up, click “Confirm.”

Facebook screenshot
Click on “Confirm” to block a business account

How to block a profile on Facebook from your mobile device

Blocking a personal profile from a mobile device

To block a personal profile on Facebook using a mobile device, complete the following steps:

1. Navigate to the profile you want to block. You can find this profile by searching in the search bar at the top of the screen.

2. Click on the three dots next to the lightning/message icon. (This is under the profile and cover photos.)

3. In the box that appears, scroll to “Block” at the bottom of the box and tap it.

how to block someone on Facebook on a mobile device
Locate the “Block” option in the box that appears below the profile picture when you click on the three dots

4. Tap “Block” in the “Block users” screen.

screenshot: blocking an account on Facebook
Confirm you want to block this account

How to unblock a profile on Facebook

If you change your mind about blocking a Facebook profile, you can unblock them. Before unblocking a profile, remember that you cannot block this person again for the next 48 hours. Any tags between your account and the blocked account may be restored when you unlock them, but you can remove tags of yourself via your activity log.

Unblocking a profile from desktop

1. Locate the “Account” button for your profile. This is an icon shaped like a downward arrow on the upper right-hand corner of the menu on the top of your screen.

Click the downward caret to access your account options.

2. Click on the arrow. In the box that appears, scroll to “Settings & Privacy” and click on this option.

settings and privacy menu on Facebook
Select “Settings & Privacy,” indicated by a gear icon

3. In the “Settings & Privacy” box that appears, click on “Settings.” This will take you to the Settings page.

settings and privacy menu on Facebook mobile
Select “Settings”

4. On the left side of the Settings page is the page’s menu. Locate and click on “Blocking.”

blocking option in Facebook mobile menu
Click on “Blocking” from the left-side menu of the Settings page

5. On the screen that appears, locate “Block users.” This will include a list of blocked people. Click “Unblock.”

unblocking someone on Facebook
Select the block users you wish to unblock and click the blue “Unblock” text

6. In the screen that appears, click “Confirm.”

screenshot: how to unblock someone on Facebook
Click “Confirm” to unblock the user’s profile

Unblocking a profile from a mobile device

1. At the top of the screen, tap the three horizontal lines.

Facebook mobile screenshot
Locate and tap the three horizontal lines at the top-right corner of the screen

2. Scroll down to (and tap on) “Settings.”

settings menu on Facebook mobile
Under Help & Settings, tap “Settings”

3. Under “Audience and Visibility,” scroll down to (and tap on) “Blocking.”

how to unblock someone on Facebook mobile
Locate and tap “Blocking” under Audience and Visibility

4. Tap “Unblock” next to the profile you want to unblock.

5. On the screen that appears, tap “Unblock.”

unblocking someone on Facebook
Tap “Unblock” to remove the block on the user’s account

Customized blocking options on Facebook

In addition to blocking accounts, you can customize many other aspects of Facebook. From the same screen where you unblock accounts, you have control over the following:

  • Who sees your posts
  • Who can send you messages
  • Who can invite you to download apps
  • Who can invite you to events
  • Which apps can contact you
  • Which business pages can contact and interact with you

To access this page and customize these settings, follow these instructions. (Note: This only works on your desktop; Facebook mobile does not have this option.)

  1. Locate the “Account” button for your profile and click on the arrow.
  2. In the box that appears, scroll to “Settings & Privacy” and click on this option.
  3. In the “Settings & Privacy” box that appears, click on “Settings.” This will take you to the Settings page.
  4. On the left side of the Settings page is the page’s menu. Locate and click on “Blocking.”

Further protecting your privacy online

Facebook is not the only place where control over your privacy is vital: emails, social media accounts, and other password-protected platforms face daily threats from hackers. Protect your data and privacy with identity management software. This software offers protection through features such as multi-factor authentication (MFA) across your devices to keep your accounts secure. Learn more by reading our Buyers Guide for identity management software.


Note: The steps to block someone on Facebook were researched in October 2021, and the screenshots reflect the app layout on both an iPhone and desktop computer. Applications and layouts are liable to change; see Facebook’s Help Center for additional information.

/Was this article helpful to you?


Tags:

About the Author

Capterra

Capterra

At Capterra, we believe that software makes the world a better place. Why? Because software can help every organization become a more efficient, effective version of itself.

Related Reading

Comments

No comments yet. Be the first!

Comment on this article:

Comment Guidelines:
All comments are moderated before publication and must meet our guidelines. Comments must be substantive, professional, and avoid self promotion. Moderators use discretion when approving comments.

For example, comments may not:
• Contain personal information like phone numbers or email addresses
• Be self-promotional or link to other websites
• Contain hateful or disparaging language
• Use fake names or spam content
Your privacy is important to us. Check out our Privacy Policy.